Reviews for 'Adult Summer Reading 2015'


189 reviews available
Title
Kismet
Author
Carly Phillips
Review
Lissa and Trevor haven't seen each other for 10 years. Lissa is divorced with a daughter Livvy. They live in Serendipty NY. Lissa is sent to Manhatten to interview her old flame, Trevor, who is now a money guru on Wall Street. The 2 discover that there is still fuel in the fire.
Rating
Date Posted
8/20/2015
Title
Arsenic and Old Books
Author
Miranda James
Review
From one of my favorite cozy series - a cat in the stacks mystery - and it didn't disappoint. Although this time Charlie doesn't find a body, he's drawn into the mystery because the victim was desperately interested in diaries that date to the American Civil War which were taken from the Archives where he works.
Rating
Date Posted
8/20/2015
Title
Open and Shut
Author
David Rosenfelt
Review
An engaging, suspenseful legal thriller written in a very readable manner. The main character, attorney Andy Carpenter is a very likeable, down to earth human being who despite his foibles and confusion is an excellent defense attorney.
Rating
Date Posted
8/20/2015
Title
Bloody Times: The Funeral of Abraham Lincoln and the Manhunt for Jefferson Davis
Author
James L. Swanson
Review
A riveting account of the lives of Abraham Lincoln, President during The Civil War and Jefferson Davis, President of the Confederacy.
While I was familiar with Abraham Lincoln, there were many elements of Jefferson Davis' life that I was unaware of. This book improved my knowledge of both men and propelled my need to read more.
Rating
Date Posted
8/19/2015
Title
One Night
Author
Eric Jerome Dickey
Review
2 totally opposite people, a man (successful), and a woman who is down on her luck living hand to mouth have a chance meeting. They are physically drawn to each other in the midst of a Christmas season where neither feels like celebrating. What happens is the result of mutual want, but reveals a lot in 24 hours. Deep reading
Rating
Date Posted
8/19/2015
Title
Queen Sugar
Author
Natalie Baszile
Review
Charley, a young African-American widow, and her 11 year old daughter move from California to Louisiana to rescue the sugar cane farm she unexpectantly inherited from her father. Love, family and trust figure prominently in the story.
Rating
Date Posted
8/18/2015
Title
Stepford Wives
Author
Ira Levin
Review
Who knew moving to the suburbs could be so scary? A suspenseful story of women mysteriously changing into ultimate anti-feminists is made more interesting by the setting of the Women's Lib movement. It's a page-turning read, and the excitement builds as the protagonist Joanna gets closer to figuring what's going on. Both literate and creepy.
Rating
Date Posted
8/18/2015
Title
Death Wish
Author
Brian Garfield
Review
Psychological suspense builds from the first page as the reader enters the world of a typical Manhattanite that gets turned upside down by a senseless, violent act. Accountant Paul Benjamin tries to cope with tragedy the best way he can but finds his only relief is evening the score. Vigilante justice takes over a city where citizens fear for their lives. Interesting points are raised about heroes and villains, the justice system and social issues.
Rating
Date Posted
8/17/2015
Title
Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Author
Dai Sijie
Review
The book shows that negative situations can be survived if one has commonsense, skill and courage to share one talents and dreams, even if it may involve hard work and despair. The writing is superb and the story riveting, especially since the author was himself one of those who was sent to be re-educated between 1971 and 1974. The novel's ending is surprising but somewhat believable. Everyone is searching for his/her authentic self and sometimes find the courage for new beginnings.
Rating
Date Posted
8/17/2015
Title
Sea Swept
Author
Nora Roberts
Review
A perfect book to read on the plane as I traveled! I had actually read book 3 in the trilogy so was happy to go back and visit with the characters. A little sad in spots (deals with abuse) but it drew me in and I wanted to learn more about the characters.
Rating
Date Posted
8/16/2015
Title
Boston Girl
Author
Anita Diamont
Review
I listened to this as an audio book and it felt like I was sitting with my grandmother as she told me stories of her childhood. It was comforting and gave me a glimpse into what her life would have been like. The ending felt rushed and I was left feeling like the book had to end so we'll just skip through the next part and go to the end. But, I truly enjoyed it!
Rating
Date Posted
8/16/2015
Title
One Night Unveiled
Author
Jodi Ellen Malpas
Review
Miller Hart and Olivia Taylor have a complicated relationship. Miller is an OCD control freak who meets Olivia, a barista, and they wind up in a relationship that is fraught with secrets and uncertainty. Miller has a reputation as a male escort. Olivia lives with her grandmother, Nan, not knowing her parents. Many questions are asked and answered.
Rating
Date Posted
8/15/2015
Title
China Rich Girlfriend
Author
Kevin Kwan
Review
A beach read. Kevin Kwan invents characters who have lots and lots of money, old and new. He makes fun of them in this book. Filled with Chinese expressions that are translated at the bottom of each page. Lots of characters sometimes hard to keep track of.
Rating
Date Posted
8/14/2015
Title
asylum
Author
Jeanette De Beauvoir
Review
When 4 women are brutally murdered over a period of several months, with all their bodies positioned on park benches in Montreal, Martine LeBuc, a PR director from the mayor's office must form a liasion with the police department. As they deeply delve into Montreal's history in the 1950's, dark secrets surface.
Rating
Date Posted
8/14/2015
Title
Those Girls
Author
Chevy Stevens
Review
I happen to enjoy this author, who never seems to disappoint me. This was a thriller surrounded by characters facing desperation, evil and loyalty. It starts out as a story of survival, but revenge enters the novel.
Rating
Date Posted
8/14/2015
Title
Reluctantly Charmed
Author
Ellie O'Neill
Review
Kate, about to celebrate her 26th birthday receives a note that she is a benefactor in a long lost relative's will. As a junior copywriter in Dublin, she longs for a little difference in her life. She pursues this estate request which has a stipulation only for her. It is quite descriptive.
Rating
Date Posted
8/13/2015
Title
One Mile Under: Ty Hauck novel
Author
Andrew Gross
Review
I didn't know this was a series book,so the thought that I haven't read the prior books nagged at me. I did enjoy the well developed story line and hope to read the prior books.
Rating
Date Posted
8/13/2015
Title
The Calamity Janes. Gina and Emma
Author
Sherryl Woods
Review
Two light-hearted stories. Gina and Emma are two women both struggling with their own problems. In the end of both stories can they make it a happily ever after story?
Rating
Date Posted
8/13/2015
Title
Shakespeare
Author
Bill Bryson
Review
This uncomplicated retelling of the life of the world's best known playwright debates what is truly known about his life and what is conjecture.
Rating
Date Posted
8/13/2015
Title
The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds
Author
Alexander McCall Smith
Review
The Isabel Dalhousie series follows the life of this Edinburgh philosopher. The interesting situations she finds herself in lead her to some philosophical conclusions.
Rating
Date Posted
8/13/2015
189 reviews available